FANDOM


Moblit Berner (Manga)
Moblit Berner (Anime)


Moblit Berner (モブリット・バーナー Moburitto Bānā?) ist ein Mitglied des Aufklärungstrupps und Stellvertreter des vierten Trupps. Er agiert auch als Hanjis Assistent und Bote.

AussehenBearbeiten

Er hatte kurze, braune Haare und helle, braune Augen. Seine Kleidung bestand aus der typischen Aufklärungstrupp-Garnitur mit einem grünen Shirt drunter.

PersönlichkeitBearbeiten

Er wirkt wie ein intelligenter und verantwortungsbewusster Mensch, was vielleicht der Grund dafür ist, dass er seinen übereifrigen und exzentrischen Vorgesetzten aus Schwierigkeiten heraushalten muss. Die meiste Zeit ist er in Panik und muss Hanji ständig daran erinnern, vorsichtiger zu sein oder sie in Sicherheit zu bringen. Dass er an ihrer Seite bleibt, deutet darauf hin, dass er eine loyale Person ist, ungeachtet des Stresses, der mit ihrem Kommando verbunden ist.

HandlungBearbeiten

A Choice with No Regrets: Part TwoBearbeiten

Moblit gehört zu den vielen überraschten Rekruten, die anwesend sind, als Levi, Isabel Magnolia und Furlan Church als neue Rekruten in den Aufklärungstrupps holt. Zusammen mit Hanji beobachtet er, wie Levi während des Trainings seine Fähigkeiten mit dem 3D-Manöver-Apparat präsentiert.[2]

Ilse's Notebook: Record of a Fallen SoldierBearbeiten

Hanjis Plan

Hanjis Plan

Moblit nimmt an der 49. Mission des Aufklärungstrupps im Jahr 850 teil. Während der Expedition vor den Mauern versucht er Hanji zu beruhigen, die versucht, den Kommandanten Erwin Smith davon zu überzeugen, einen Titanen zu fangen, was Erwin aber ablehnt. Moblit folgt Hanji und beobachtet sie, als sie das Zelt verlässt und verärgert Auruo Bossard konfrontiert, nachdem er sie verärgert hat.

Als Mike Zakarius einen Titan in der Nähe ansieht, gelingt es Moblit nicht, Hanji aufzuhalten, den Titan zu treffen.[3]

Am Vorabend der GegenoffensiveBearbeiten

Gefangener Titan

Mobilt versucht Hanji zurückzuhalten

Moblit erscheint zuerst als Hanji Zoes Assistentin und steht in ihrer Nähe, während sie versucht, mit den gefangenen Titanen, zu sprechen. Er wird immens in Panik versetzt durch Hajis scheinbar rücksichtslose Versuche, die beiden Titanen dazu zu bringen, ihr zu antworten. Deshalb wiederholt er oft, dass sie etwas zurücktreten soll.[4]

Hanji ist aufgebracht, weil die Titanen gestorben sind

Hanji ist aufgebracht, weil die Titanen gestorben sind

Einige Zeit später schubst Hanji den Titan absichtlich mit einer langen Stange in das Herz, um die Reaktion des Titans auf Schmerz zu bestimmen und sie schreit dabei, weil sie es eigentlich nicht will. Moblit ist besorgt über ihre Reaktion, worauf sie erwidert, dass sie ihm nicht solche Schmerzen zufügen will, was sie dazu bringt zu schreien und so aufgebracht zu sein. Später bringt sie ein weiterer Versuch, sich mit dem Titan in Verbindung zu setzen, beinahe dazu, sich den Kopf abbeißen zu lassen und Moblit zieht sie vor Angst davon, da sie mit Sicherheit sterben wird, wenn sie nicht vorsichtig ist. Nachdem er erneut auf das Gelände gerufen wurde, wo die Titanen gehalten wurden, ist Hanji wegen des Mordes in Unordnung. Während sie schreit, versucht Moblit sie zu beruhigen.[4]

Die 57. Expedition hinter die MauerBearbeiten

Hanji und Moblit sind mit ihrer Niederlage unzufrieden

Hanji und Moblit sind mit ihrer Niederlage unzufrieden

Moblit nimmt an der 57. Expedition hinter die Mauer teil. Er wird den Soldaten zugeteilt, die auf den weiblichen Titan warten, und ist unter ihnen, nachdem sie gefangen genommen wurde. Während Levi den Titanen einschüchtert und ihr von seinen Plänen erzählt, ihren echten Körper zu zerstückeln, lässt der weibliche Titan ein ohrenbetäubend lautes Gebrüll ertönen, das Moblit und Hanji dazu bringt, ihre Ohren zu bedecken, während der Titan schreit. Nach dem Gebrüll wundert sich Moblit laut, ob es eine Todesschrei war und ist überrascht zu sehen, dass zahlreiche Titanen anfangen das Gebiet zu schwärmen und den weiblichen Titan anzugreifen. Als sie beginnen, sie zu verschlingen, befiehlt Kommandant Erwin Smith allen Soldaten, die Titanen zu bekämpfen und den weiblichen Titan bis zum Tod zu verteidigen. Moblit kämpft unerbittlich mit seinen Kameraden, aber ohne Erfolg. Der Kommandant erkennt, dass alles verloren ist und befiehlt seinen Soldaten, sich zurückzuziehen und in den Bezirk Karanese zurückzukehren.

Sturm auf den Bezirk StohessBearbeiten

Die Soldaten beobachten, wie Eren und Annie kämpfen

Die Soldaten beobachten, wie Eren und Annie kämpfen

Der Aufklärungstrupp versucht erneut den weiblichen Titan zu fangen, diesmal im Bezirk Stohess, wo sie glauben, dass sie sich versteckt. Armin Arlert verdächtigt Annie Leonhardt.[5] Mit ihrem Verdacht gelingt es Eren Jäger, Annie erfolgreich zu besiegen. Moblit steht in der Nähe und packt Hanji in Panik, als die Soldaten versuchen, Annie aus dem Nacken ihres Titanen zu ziehen. Annies letzte Möglichkeit, sich selbst zu kristallisieren, macht es ihr jedoch unmöglich, Informationen aus ihr zu gewinnen.[6] Kurz darauf wird Moblit unter anderem damit beauftragt, Annie an einen sichereren Ort zu bringen, an dem sie bis auf weiteres festgehalten wird.[7]

Aufprall der TitanenBearbeiten

Als die Soldaten bemerken, dass sich innerhalb der Mauer ein Titan befindet, rennt Moblit verzweifelt zu Hanji und fragt nach ihren Befehlen. Nachdem der Titan erfolgreich abgedeckt wurde, ist Moblit anwesend, während Hanji Nick über den Titan befragt. Als Hanji Nick über den Rand der Mauer hält, versucht er sie aufzuhalten, aber sie sagt ihm, dass er zurückbleiben soll. Als Hanji Nick zurück auf die Mauer wirft, nähert sich Moblit Hanji und versucht, mit ihr zu sprechen.[7]

Moblit versucht Hanji zum Mitkommen zu bewegen

Moblit versucht Hanji zum Mitkommen zu bewegen

Am selben Abend bereitet sich der Aufklärungstrupp darauf vor, Stohess zu verlassen, um die Sichtung von Titanen innerhalb der Mauer Rose zu untersuchen. Moblit erwischt Hanji, die immer noch an ihrer Forschung arbeitet, als der Trupp in fünf Minuten starten möchte und versucht, sie dazu zu bringen, zu gehen.[8]

Als der Aufklärungstrupp im Bezirk Ehrmich ankommt, schließt sich Moblit den Soldaten an, die Hanji zur Burg Utgard mitnimmt, um Historia Reiss zu holen.[9] Nachdem die Rettung abgeschlossen ist, zieht er sich zusammen mit den anderen Mitgliedern des Aufklärungstrupp an die Spitze der Mauer Rose zurück. Soldaten der Mauergarnison treffen sich mit ihnen und berichten, dass sie keinen Bruch in der Mauer gefunden haben. Besorgt diskutiert Hanji mit Moblit die Möglichkeit von alternativen Methoden, mit denen die Titanen hätten in die Mauer eindringen können; Graben zum Beispiel.[10]

Moblit bereitet sich darauf vor den kolossalen Titanen anzugreifen

Moblit bereitet sich darauf vor den kolossalen Titanen anzugreifen

Ihre Diskussion wird durch die Enthüllung unterbrochen, dass Reiner Braun und Berthold Fubar der gepanzerte Titan und der kolossale Titan sind und sich in ihre Titanenform verwandelt haben.[10] Moblit schließt sich den Soldaten an, indem er den kolossalen Titan angreift, der zunächst nicht schwierig zu besiegen scheint, abgesehen von seiner Größe, aber dann gibt der Titanen einen mächtigen Ausbruch von kochendem Dampf ab, der die Soldaten zurücktreibt.[11]

Hanji lässt die meisten der Soldaten den kolossalen Titanen beobachten, falls Bertholdt sich Berthold zurück verwandelt oder angreifbar wird. Sie beobachten, dass Reiner mit Eren beschäftigt ist, der seine Titanform angenommen hat. Moblit beobachtet die Schlacht, als Eren dank Mikasas und Hanjis Hilfe allmählich einen Vorteil gegenüber Reiner bekommt. Bevor Eren jedoch gewinnen kann, brüllt Reiner und signalisiert Berthold, von seiner Position auf der Mauer herunterzufallen. Moblit ist unter den Soldaten, die durch die Explosion, die durch die Landung des kolossalen Titans verursacht wurde, schwer verbrannt wurden.[12]

Später am selben Tag kommt Erwin mit Verstärkungen und den Aufzügen, die notwendig sind, um die Pferde über die Mauer für eine Rettungsmission zu bewegen, da Reiner und Bertholdt Eren erfolgreich entführt haben. Zu dieser Zeit hat sich Moblit genug erholt, dass er stehen und Erwin Bericht erstatten kann. Hanji, die zu schwach ist, um aufzustehen, greift Moblits Bein und bittet ihn, eine Karte zu holen, mit der sie Reiner und Bertholdts Ziel der Rettungsgruppe erklären kann.[12]

Moblit entscheidet sich nach Ragako zu gehen

Moblit entscheidet sich nach Ragako zu gehen

Moblit beobachtet, wie die Rettugnsgruppe geht und bemerkt, dass Hanji davonkriecht. Sie bittet um ein Pferd, um in das Dorf zu gehen, wo sie den Titan finden, der nicht gehen kann. Als Moblit ihren Zustand sieht, untersucht er ihn an ihrer Stelle und sagt ihr, dass sie dort bleiben soll.[13]

Er kommt mit ein paar anderen Soldaten in Ragako an und stellt fest, dass das Dorf zerstört wurde, aber es gibt kein Blut und auch keine Leichen. Wenn die Dorfbewohner entkamen, dann hatten die Titanen ein völlig leeres Dorf zerstört, was er schwer glauben kann. Er bemerkt auch, dass die Pferde noch in ihrem Stall sind und nicht genommen wurden.[14]

Moblit hält einen Soldaten vom Angreifen ab

Moblit hält einen Soldaten vom Angreifen ab

Einer der Soldaten lässt Moblit wissen, dass er den Titan in einem Haus gefangen gefunden hat und ein anderer Soldat bringt ihm ein Portrait von Coonie Springers Eltern. Moblit hält es hoch, während er den Titan ansieht. Dieser zittert und versucht aufzustehen, was dazu führt, dass er das Portrait überrascht fallen lässt. Einer der Soldaten zieht seine Klingen, um ihn zu töten, aber Moblit stoppt ihn. Der Titan setzt sich wieder, immer noch unbeweglich. Moblit nimmt das Portrait auf, hält es jetzt an den Kopf und bemerkt die Ähnlichkeit zwischen Connies Mutter und dem Gesicht des Titanen.[14]

Der AufstandBearbeiten

Hanji versucht Eren aus seinem Titan zu ziehen

Moblit zeichnet die Versuche mit Eren auf

Nachdem Hanji sich von ihren Verletzungen erholt hat, nimmt Moblit seine Aufgaben als Assistent wieder auf. Während eines Experiments, um Erens Ausdauer in seiner Titanen-Form zu testen, hat Moblit die Aufgabe, die Tests aufzuzeichnen. Während des letzten Experiments ist Hanji gezwungen, Eren von seinem Titan physisch zu entfernen, nachdem er zusammengebrochen ist, während Moblit eine Skizze des stark entstellten Gesichtes des Jungen macht.

Bald danach erhält Moblit die Nachricht, dass Pastor Nick ermordet worden ist und benachrichtigt sofort Hanji. Die beiden besuchen Nicks Zimmer, werden jedoch von zwei Mitgliedern der Militärpolizei, die behaupten, dass sie sich in den Tatort einmischen würden, den Zutritt verwehrt. Als Hanjis Proteste eine der Wachen dazu bringt, mit ihr körperlich in Kontakt zu kommen, trennt Moblit die beiden schnell voneinander und stellt sich und Hanji formell als Mitglieder des Aufklärungstrupp vor. Nachdem sie die Erklärung des Polizisten über Nick gehört haben, gehen die beiden weg. Als sie gehen, erzählt Hanji Moblit, dass es die Polizisten sind, die Nick getötet haben, nicht ein Einbrecher, wie die beiden behauptet hatten.

Moblit und Hanji reisen zum Versteck der Spezialeinheit von Levi, um sie über Nicks Tod zu informieren. Nachdem Hanji ihre Geschichte abgeschlossen hat, kommt Nifa mit einer Nachricht von Erwin, die Levi dazu auffordert, alle zu evakuieren. Sobald sie in Sicherheit sind, enthüllt Levi ihnen, dass der Aufklärungstrupp beauftragt wurde, Eren und Historia zu übergeben. Nifa offenbart auch, dass Erwin kurz nach ihrem Treffen mit ihr verhaftet wurde und Hanji beschließt, dass sie und Moblit versuchen werden, dem Kommandanten zu helfen.[15]

Nachdem er Erwin besucht hat und ihn über die Entführung von Eren und Historia sowie Hanjis Theorie informiert hat, dass Rod Reiss Eren essen möchte und seine Titan-Kräfte zu stehlen versucht, schließen sich Moblit und Hanji erneut mit Levis Spezialeinheit zusammen, um Djel Sanes zu foltern, den Levi entführt hat. Nachdem er von Sannes erfahren hat, dass die Familie Reiss die wahre königliche Familie ist, gibt Moblit Levis Team eine Skizze von Rod Reiss' Gesicht, um ihnen zu helfen, ihn zu identifizieren.[16]

Moblit versucht Hanji zu beruhigen

Moblit versucht Hanji zu beruhigen

Moblit und Hanji beuschen wieder Erwin Smith, um ihn über die Neuigkeiten des wahren Status der Familie Reiss zu informieren. Erwin gibt ihnen die Ergebnisse seiner Untersuchung über die Familie Reiss, doch bevor er fortfahren kann, erfährt Erwin, dass er beschuldigt wurde, einen Mord organisiert zu haben. Als Erwin sich seinen Anklägern stellt, befiehlt er Moblit und Hanji, die Stadt sofort zu verlassen.[17]

Moblit beteiligt sich an Hanjis Plan, Flegel Reeves zu verwenden, um Mitglieder der Militärpolizei dazu zu bringen, zuzugeben, dass die erste Zentralbrigade Dimo Reeves ermordet hat. Nachdem sie gestanden haben, überfallen Hanji und Moblit sie und fangen sie ein.[18] Daraufhin begleitet Moblit sie zu Levis Team, wo Hanji ihnen vom Militärputsch erzählt.[19]

Gemeinsam reisen sie zur Kapelle der Reiss-Familie,[20] wo sie einen Angriff auf die darunter liegende Höhle starten. Während des Angriffs hilft Moblit Feuerfackeln auf den Feind zu schießen, um das Team vor Blicken zu schützen.[21] Hanji wird während der Schlacht verletzt und Moblit ist gezwungen, sie zu tragen, als sie tiefer in die Höhle vordringen.

Moblit, Hanji und Armin entkommen gerade so aus der Kapelle

Moblit, Hanji und Armin entkommen gerade so aus der Kapelle

Der Aufklärungstrupp wird wird schließlich von einer Barrikade blockiert und bevor sie einen Weg finden, sie zu umgehen, bemerken sie das Licht einer Titanverwandlung tiefer in die Höhle. Die resultierenden Erschütterungen, die durch die Kraft der Transformation verursacht wurden, erschüttern die Barrikade und Levi befiehlt Moblit und Armin, Hanji in Sicherheit zu bringen, während der Rest des Trupps weitermacht.

Als die drei die Kapelle verlassen, beginnt sich ein Loch zu bilden, als die unterirdische Höhle zusammenbricht, in der sie fast gefangen waren. Die drei treffen Levis Trupp, nachdem sie aus der Höhle entkommen sind und Rods Titan folgen, der sich auf den Weg nach Orvud macht. Auf dem Weg dorthin treffen sie Erwin und seine Leute.[22]

Als Ersatzplan für den Fall, dass es den Soldaten nicht gelingt, Rods Titan zu zerstören, lässt Erwin Hanji und Moblit Schießpulver, Seile und ein Netz bringen, während die Garnison versucht, Rod mit den Kanonen der Mauer zu töten. Als Rods Titan auf die Mauer klettert und sich davor kniet, verwandelt sich Eren in seinen Titanen und schnappt sich das Schießpulver, das Hanji und Moblit gebracht haben, und benutzt es, um Rods Kopf wegzublasen.[23]

Nach der Schlacht in Orvud besucht Moblit Historias Krönung als Königin der Mauern.[24]

Zwei Monate nach der Krönung von Historia ist Moblit einer der anwesenden Soldaten, die Zeugen werden, wie der neu geschaffene Titanenhenker seinen ersten Titan tötet. Er und seine Kameraden feiern den Erfolg von Hanjis Experimenten mit Erens Verhärtungsfähigkeit.[25]

Beziehungen zu anderen CharakterenBearbeiten

  • Hanji Zoe - Moblit fungiert als Hanjis persönlicher Assistent und betreut sie oft bei Projekten oder hilft ihr bei bestimmten Aufgaben. Er wird dabei nie erschöpft und rügt sie manchmal für ihre gefährlichen Handlungen.

TriviaBearbeiten

  • In einem Interview erwähnte Hajime Isayama, dass Moblit von allen Veteranen des Aufklärungstrupps aufgrund seiner „unglücklichen“ Position am meisten trinkt.[26]

EinzelnachweiseBearbeiten

  1. Attack on Titan Character Encyclopedia (Seite 30)
  2. Attack on Titan Anime: OVA 5
  3. Attack on Titan Anime: OVA 1
  4. 4,0 4,1 Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 15
  5. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 24
  6. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 25
  7. 7,0 7,1 Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 26
  8. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 27
  9. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 28
  10. 10,0 10,1 Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 31
  11. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 32
  12. 12,0 12,1 Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 33
  13. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 34
  14. 14,0 14,1 Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 35
  15. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 38
  16. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 39
  17. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 40
  18. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 41
  19. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 42
  20. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 43
  21. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 44
  22. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 45
  23. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 46
  24. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 47
  25. Attack on Titan Anime: Episode 48
  26. „FRaU August 2014 issue“.

FANDOM


Article
Gallery

Moblit Berner (モブリット・バーナー Moburitto Bānā?) is a veteran member of the Scout Regiment and the executive officer (分隊副長 Buntai Fukuchō?) of the Scout Regiment's Fourth Squad, under the command of Hange Zoë. He also serves as Hange's assistant and messenger.

Appearance

Moblit has short smooth brown hair parted down the middle and light brown eyes. He is of average height and build, but often carries a worried expression due to his superior officer's wild and impulsive personality. Moblit wears the typical uniform of a member of the Scout Regiment with a green button up shirt underneath, but he is sometimes seen wearing black pants with a white button down. On missions, he wears the Scout Regiment's green cloak.

Personality

He comes across as an intelligent and responsible person, which may be the reason he is tasked to keep his overzealous and eccentric superior out of trouble. Much of the time, this leaves him in a state of near-panic, having to constantly remind Hange to be more careful or yanking her to safety. That he remains at her side constantly suggests he is a loyal person, regardless of the stress involved with being under her command.

Story

A Choice with No Regrets: Part Two

Moblit is among the many surprised recruits present when Levi, Isabel Magnolia, and Furlan Church are introduced to the Scout Regiment as new recruits. Along with Hange, he watches Levi demonstrate his superior omni-directional mobility gear skills during training.[1]

Ilse's Notebook: Record of a Fallen Soldier

Hange's request

Moblit trying to stop Hange from yelling at Erwin

Moblit takes part in the 49th Exterior Scouting Mission in Wall Maria, in the year 850. During the expedition outside the Walls, he tries, but fails, to calm down Hange when her proposal to attempt to capture a Titan alive is rejected by Erwin Smith. Moblit then follows Hange and watches her as she leaves the tent and angrily confronts Oruo Bozad after he annoys her.

When Miche Zacharius sights a Titan in the vicinity, Moblit fails to stop Hange, who runs ahead before the other Scouts to meet the Titan.[2]

Eve of the Counterattack arc

Bean Being Captured

Moblit stressing over Hange's studies

Moblit first appears as Hange Zoë's assistant, standing nearby as she attempts to establish communication with the captured Titans whom she named Sawney and Beane. He is immensely panicked by Hange's seemingly reckless attempts to get the two Titans to respond to her, repeatedly telling her to step back.[3]

Hange panics at the loss of Sonny and Bean

Moblit stands by Hange as she panics over the loss of Sawney and Beane

Some time later, Hange purposefully jabs Beane in the heart with a long pole in order to determine the Titan's reaction to pain, screaming while doing so. Moblit is worried by her reaction, to which she responds that seeing Beane in such pain is what is causing her to scream and be so upset. Later on, another attempt at establishing communication with Sawney nearly causes him to bite her head off, and Moblit drags her away in fear while exclaiming that she will most certainly die if she does not exercise caution. After being once again summoned to the grounds where the Titans were being kept, Hange is in disarray at the sight of their murder. As she screams, Moblit attempts to calm her down from the side lines.[3]

The 57th Exterior Scouting Mission arc

Hange and Moblit show discontent with their defeat

Hange and Moblit show discontent with their defeat

Moblit takes part in the 57th exterior scouting mission. He is assigned to the soldiers lying in wait for the Female Titan and is among them after she has been captured. As Levi intimidates the Female and tells her of his plans to dismember her real body, the Female Titan lets out a deafeningly loud roar which causes Moblit and Hange to cover their ears as the Titan shrieks. After the roar, Moblit wonders aloud if it was a death rattle, and is surprised to see numerous Titans begin to swarm the area and attack the female. When they begin to devour her, Commander Erwin Smith orders all squads to engage the Titans and defend the Female to the death. Moblit fights relentlessly among his comrades but to no avail. The Commander, realizing that all is lost, orders his soldiers to pull back and return to Calaneth District.[4]

Assault on Stohess arc

The soldiers watch Eren fight Annie

The soldiers watch Eren fight Annie in Stohess

The Scout Regiment again attempt to capture the Female Titan, this time in Stohess District where they believe she is hiding. With Armin Arlelt's help, they single out Annie Leonhart as their suspect.[5] With their suspicions correct, Eren Jaeger successfully manages to incapacitate Annie during the raid on Stohess. Moblit stands nearby, grabbing Hange's shoulders in a state of panic as the surrounding soldiers attempt to extract Annie from the nape of her Titan. However, Annie's last resort to crystallize herself makes her impossible to extract information from.[6] Shortly after, Moblit is among those instructed to move Annie to a safer place where she would be held until further notice.[7]

Clash of the Titans arc

When the soldiers notice that there is a Titan within the Wall, he frantically runs toward Hange, asking for her orders. After the Titan is successfully covered, Moblit is present as Hange questions Nick about the Titan. When Hange holds Nick over the edge of Wall, he attempts to stop her, only to be told to stay back. When Hange throws Nick back onto the Wall, Moblit approaches Hange and attempts to speak with her.[7]

Moblit harangues Hange

Moblit tries to get Hange to pack up

That evening, the Scout Regiment prepares to depart Stohess District to investigate the sighting of Titans in Wall Rose. Moblit catches Hange still working on her research when the Scouts are supposed to leave in five minutes and tries to get her to leave.[8]

When the Scouts stop in Ehrmich District, he joins the soldiers Hange takes to Utgard Castle on a mission to retrieve Historia Reiss.[9] After the rescue is complete, he withdraws to the top of Wall Rose along with the rest of the Scouts. Garrison soldiers meet up with them and report that they have not found any breach in the Wall. Concerned, Hange discusses with Moblit the possibility of alternative methods the Titans could have used to enter; digging, for example.[10]

Moblit attacking the Colossal Titan

Moblit prepares to attack the Colossal Titan

Their discussion is disrupted by the revelation that Reiner Braun and Bertholdt Hoover are the Armored and Colossal Titans and their ensuing transformation into their Titan forms.[10] Moblit joins the Scouts in attacking the Colossal Titan, which does not initially appear to be a difficult opponent aside from its size, but then the Colossal emits a powerful burst of scalding steam that drives the Scouts back.[11]

Hange leaves most of the the squads with her watching the Colossal Titan in case Bertholdt emerges and takes the rest, including Moblit, after the Armored Titan. They find Reiner busy fighting Eren, who has taken on his Titan form. Moblit watches the battle as Eren gradually gains an advantage over Reiner thanks to Mikasa and Hange's assistance. Before Eren can win however, Reiner roars, signaling Bertholdt to fall down from his position on the Wall.[11] Moblit is among the soldiers badly burned from the explosion caused by the landing of the Colossal Titan.[12]

Later that same day, Erwin arrives with reinforcements and the lifts necessary to move the horses over the Wall for a rescue mission, since Reiner and Bertholdt have successfully kidnapped Eren. By this time Moblit has recovered enough that he can stand and report to Erwin. Hange, too weak to get up, grabs Moblit's leg and asks him to get a map, which she uses to explain Reiner and Bertholdt's destination to the rescue party.[12]

Moblit decides to go to Ragako

Moblit decides to go to Ragako in Hange's place

Moblit watches the rescuers leave and then notices Hange crawling away. She asks for a horse to go to the village where they found the Titan that could not walk. Seeing her condition, Moblit goes to investigate in her place and tells her to stay put.[13]

He arrives with a few other Scouts in Ragako and observes that the village has been destroyed, but there is no blood, nor are there any bodies. If the villagers escaped, then the Titans were having a field day in a completely empty village, which he finds difficult to believe. He also notes that the horses are still in their stable and have not been taken.[14]

Moblit prevents another Scout from attacking

Moblit prevents another Scout from attacking

One of the Scouts lets Moblit know he has found the Titan trapped inside of a house, and another soldier brings him a portrait of Conny Springer's parents. Moblit holds it up while looking at the Titan. It quivers and attempts to get up, causing him to drop the portrait in surprise. The Scout draws his blades to kill it, but Moblit stops him. The Titan settles down again, still immobile. Moblit picks up the portrait, now holding it upside-down, and notices the resemblance between Conny's mother and the face of the Titan.[14]

The Uprising arc

Hange tries to pull Eren out of his Titan

Moblit sketches Eren

Following Hange's recovery from her injuries, Moblit resumes his duties as her assistant. During an experiment to test Eren's endurance while in his Titan form, Moblit is tasked with recording the tests. During the final experiment, Hange is forced to physically remove Eren from his Titan after he collapses, while Moblit makes a sketch of the boy's heavily disfigured face.

Soon after, Moblit receives word that Pastor Nick has been murdered, and immediately notifies Hange. The two visit Nick's room, but are barred entrance by two members of the Military Police, who claim that they will interfere with the crime scene. When Hange's protests prompt one of the guards to get physical with her, Moblit quickly separates the two, formally introducing himself and Hange as members of the Scout Regiment. After hearing the policeman's explanation of what happened to Nick, the two depart. As they leave, Hange tells Moblit that it was the policemen who killed Nick, not a burglar.

Moblit and Hange travel to Squad Levi's hideout to inform them of Nick's death. Once Hange has concluded her story, Nifa arrives with a message from Erwin, which prompts Levi to order everyone to evacuate. Once they are safely away, Levi reveals to them that the Scout Regiment has been ordered to hand over Eren and Historia, and that a freeze has been placed on all future Scout activity. Nifa also reveals that the Military Police payed Erwin a visit shortly after the decree, and Hange decides that she and Moblit will go to attempt to aid the commander.[15]

Moblit provides a sketch of Rod Reiss

Moblit's sketch of Rod Reiss

After visiting Erwin and informing him of Eren and Historia's kidnapping, as well as Hange's theory that Rod Reiss plans to consume Eren and steal his Titan powers, Moblit and Hange regroup with Levi's squad once again to torture Djel Sannes, who Levi has kidnapped. After learning from Sannes that the Reiss family is the true royal family, Moblit provides a sketch of Rod Reiss' face to Levi's squad to help them identify him.[16]

Moblit and Hange travel to visit Erwin again, bringing news of the Reiss family's true status. Erwin gives them the results of his investigation into the Reiss family's property, but before they can continue, Erwin receives word that he has been accused of organizing a murder. As Erwin goes to face his accusers, he orders Moblit and Hange to leave the city immediately.[17]

Moblit takes part in Hange's plan to use Flegel Reeves to trick members of the Military Police into admitting that the MPs murdered Dimo Reeves. After they have confessed, Hange and Moblit ambush and capture them.[18] He also accompanies her to bring Squad Levi the news that the military's coup has been successful.[19]

Together, they travel to the Reiss family's chapel,[20] where they launch a full-scale assault on the cavern hidden underneath. During the assault, Moblit helps fire flares at the enemy to provide cover for his fellow Scouts.[21] Hange is injured during the battle, and Moblit is forced to carry her as they advance deeper into the cavern.

Moblit, Hange, and Armin get clear of the chapel

Moblit, Hange, and Armin get clear of the chapel

The Scouts eventually find their way blocked by a barricade set up by the MPs, and before they can figure out a way to circumnavigate it, they notice the light from a Titan transformation deeper into the cavern. The resulting tremors caused by the force of the transformation shake the barricade loose, and Levi order Moblit and Armin to take Hange to safety while the rest of the squad continues on.

As the three are exiting the chapel, a sinkhole begins to form as the underground cavern collapses, which they are nearly caught in. The three meet up with Levi's squad after they escape the cavern and follow Rod's Titan as it makes its way to Orvud District, meeting up with Erwin's forces en route.[22]

Arriving in Orvud, Hange and Erwin construct a plan to use explosives to blow apart Rod's nape after he reaches the district, and Moblit is assigned to gather together the explosives for the plan. As the Titan reaches the Wall, Moblit and the scouts douse themselves with water to resist its heat, and after Eren has blown up its neck they take to the skies to begin cutting pieces of its destroyed head to ensure that its nape has been destroyed.[23]

Following the battle in Orvud, Moblit attends Historia's coronation as queen of the Walls.[24]

Two months after Historia's coronation, Moblit is one of the soldiers present to witness the newly-created Executioner from Hell kill its first Titan. He and his fellow soldiers celebrate the success of Hange's experiments with Eren's hardening abilities.[25]

Abilities

Moblit is the executive officer of the Fourth Squad of the Scout Regiment and, being a senior member within this division, he has survived many expeditions alongside his immediate superior, Hange. He also possesses decent scientific abilities, serving as Hange's assistant during her experiments.

Relationships

  • Hange Zoë - Moblit acts as Hange's personal assistant and often supervises her throughout projects or helps her with certain tasks. He gets easily tired of Hange's bold gestures, sometimes reprimanding her for her hazardous actions.

Trivia

  • In an interview, Hajime Isayama mentioned that out of all the veterans of the Scout Regiment, Moblit drinks the most due to his "unfortunate" position.[26]

References

  1. Attack on Titan anime: OVA 5
  2. Attack on Titan anime: OVA 1
  3. 3.0 3.1 Attack on Titan anime: Episode 15
  4. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 20
  5. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 24
  6. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 25
  7. 7.0 7.1 Attack on Titan anime: Episode 26
  8. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 27
  9. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 28
  10. 10.0 10.1 Attack on Titan anime: Episode 31
  11. 11.0 11.1 Attack on Titan anime: Episode 32
  12. 12.0 12.1 Attack on Titan anime: Episode 33
  13. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 34
  14. 14.0 14.1 Attack on Titan anime: Episode 35
  15. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 38
  16. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 39
  17. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 40
  18. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 41
  19. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 42
  20. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 43
  21. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 44
  22. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 45
  23. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 46
  24. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 47
  25. Attack on Titan anime: Episode 48
  26. "FRaU August 2014 issue". hibana.tumblr.com.

Navigation